WHEN IS A DIET BOOK FICTION?

kareena-kapoor-yogaI had heard of some nutritionist who had become famous because of actress Kareena Kapoor who had lost weight and allegedly become more attractive. I had also heard that this lady had written a book on the subject of nutrition and weight loss. Even better, I thought. Then a couple of patients asked me about the book and what I thought of it. It was then that I chanced upon the book by accident at a bookstore. I bought ‘Don’t Lose your mind, Lose your weight’ by Rujuta Diwekar and proceeded to read it.

To say I was disappointed would be understating the truth. I was dismayed. Shocked. Nauseated, even. Not only was the language atrocious (the author tries to act cool by using Mumbaiya slang liberally, and gleefully discusses acts normally referred to discreetly by polite society), but the substance was horribly false and unscientific.

She adds weight to her deliberations by name dropping. Astonishingly, she credits Anil Ambani with the quote “Common Sense is Uncommon”. I was impressed by that—how shallow and hypocritical does one have to be to do that bit of name dropping and eminence-by-association? Of course, the lovable ‘Bebo’ is freely referenced. The whole credibility of the author and the book seems to rest on this one case of weight loss and health gain. 

The author makes amazingly dumb claims like “laddu can be as wholesome a breakfast as omlette”, “pasta does not make you fat” and many more. I am getting irritated to even continue this critique of this most unworthy piece of nutritional fiction. 

I thought I would point out the scientific fallacies freely thrown about in every page. I thought I would underline to the reader and show that the blanket truisms she spouts every other line as if they are beyond question are almost all fake and false at the least, and fraudulent at the worst.

However, so numerous are these, so wild and outrageous the claims that I am already tired of rebutting them one by one. 

If she really believes all she wrote, she knows no actual nutritional science. If she does know the science, she has written fiction. Let her decide what she has done.

I do understand that I need to substantiate my comments on the book. As tiresome as it is, I will merely list a few, and only a few:

* “Because alcohol raises estrogens in the body, drunk men giggle like girls”. Does this need any rebuttal, you think?

* “In the absence of carbs, fat cannot be burnt” (a more idiotic statement that this would take some doing!).

* “Bread, biscuit and alcohol are all bad carbs”. Yeah, I wonder she didn’t say beef was bad carbs, too!

* “Carbs reduce bloating and improve metabolism”. And my name is Janet Jackson.

* “If you eat sweets during your festivities without guilt, you won’t put on fat. Take your body into confidence.” Where will the calories go, you ask? Probably gets burnt off by all the smiling and shitting (her favorite word) that the guiltless binge must induce.

* “Animal proteins are difficult to digest”. Really? I thought they were easily digested, absorbed and had a high biologic value (the BV of eggs is nearly 98% or so).

* “Protein by itself leads to muscle breakdown (catabolism), irritation, constipation, etc.” Powerlifters and bodybuilders who eat proteins obsessively are clearly victims of the muscle breakdown, huh, Ms. Diwekar?

* Fasting is bad. Eat every two hours for fat burning.” Evidence? “I am Kareena’s nutritionist”, she seems to say.

Enough already. Dissecting trash is not really a good utility of one’s time.

Does this book have some plus points? It does, a few, but they are unimportant.

20 responses to “WHEN IS A DIET BOOK FICTION?

  1. LOL !!
    thank god that i didn’t read this books ..
    thanks for dissecting this trash and letting us know that i was a crappy thrash😀

  2. Losing weight seemed so easy after reading her book. You have made it difficult again😦

  3. Whacky and Prerna:
    It is easy and difficult to lose fat. Depends on how you look at it!
    There are so many howlers in that book, I could lose a couple of inches writing about it!

  4. I don’t know…I did follow that diet and lost 3 kilos in 3 weeks. But, I also exercise like mad!

    However, after those 3 kilos, my weight just plateaued. Seriously, thinking of trying out the Intermittent Fasting you spoke about

  5. Nishita:
    You don’t need any celeb guru to create that kind of weight loss. All you need is to reduce 500 cal intake, easily by cutting out grains and processed foods.
    You should start IF. Check out the blogroll for some good links.

  6. haha, this book might be worth reading for the comedy alone

  7. liked your blog….but calorie cutting dun like…:P

    ..Shi

  8. Damn. There goes yet another idea to chase movie star looks.

  9. One refrain that gets my goat every single time is that our body is not evolved to digest animal proteins! And the science behind it is always left out.

    I read some of her dietary advice in a book review a few weeks ago and it really made me wonder how this book became a best-seller.

  10. As Prerna said, her regime is a lot more attractive to the aam admi who craves for short cuts n fast results these days . Your strict regime is for the truly inspired.

    One most often than not finds the easier way out … just like picking stocks on tips or in ipos rather than doing your own research.

  11. i am suraj i foram afghanistan in kabul i like krina kapor
    karina kapor I love yuo
    my Email suraj.osmani@yahoo.com

    b yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  12. Interesting post! Had some questions about the book and your views on it, for a blog interview. Would love to take this further. Do get in touch.

  13. Unbelievable! No wonder there are so many misconceptions in the general public about nutrition. Crap like this polluting the internet and bookshelves!

  14. too good!! i dont care about who is ryt or wrong
    js love this piece of writing n may rujuta rest in peace amen!! :p

  15. I have read all the books written by Rujuta & I loved them.here are no short cuts there but the weight loss does happen. .. I have tried lots of different diets – atkins Gm fasting dukan etc… They work but are not practical from Indian point of view. Rujuta works on our traditional food wisdom.

  16. What’s up to every , since I am actually eager
    of reading this webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It contains fastidious information.

  17. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.

    You definitely know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you
    could be giving us something informative to read?

  18. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert
    that I acquire actually enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  19. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you so much, However I
    am experiencing issues with your RSS. I don’t know why I cannot subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody getting the same RSS issues? Anyone that
    knows the solution can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  20. I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by
    him as nobody else know such detailed about my
    difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

