THE TRUTH ABOUT THE SIX-PACK DOC

This then, folks, is my blog for fitness, health and related stuff. Expect somewhat geeky stuff here. Plus my personal fitness journey outline will be visible to some extent.
It has been a great learning experience in my transformation from a nearly 38″ to a 32″ (and you know I am talking waist sizes here, don’t you?). For the record, I am still not in the six-pack class, with a few more months of hard work remaining for the fortunate few to fully visualise the coveted recti. If you didn’t get the last word, it is the plural for the word rectus, and of course we are talking of the rectus abdominis muscle.
Talking of the rectus, it is unfortunate that most people don’t realise that the more important muscle of the anterior abdominal wall is the transversus abdominis, and not the rectus abdominis.
Too geeky, all this anatomical jargon throwing? Get used to it!
The main function of the abs is to stabilise the spine, and in addition, they help us to move, twist, breathe and to flex the trunk. Unfortunately, the way most people train the abs is to flex the trunk against gravity or resistance (crunches, sit-ups, etc), and not do the rest. The recti flex the trunk, while the three flat muscles (the two obliques and the transversus) do the rest.
Any good trainer would tell you that forced, repetitive crunching is just the thing not to do. Why? Perhaps we will discuss this in a post in the future.

12 responses to “THE TRUTH ABOUT THE SIX-PACK DOC

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. I will be following your new blog regularly. Best of luck.

  3. A rambodoc fitness site? Time for trouble!πŸ˜‰

    The SoG

  4. SoG:
    Hahaha! Just imagine! I was the only guy left who did not know “how to blast your fat off in 4 weeks and pile on 14 lbs of rock-hard muscle”!

  5. Sog:
    That’s brilliant, why didn’t I think of it? Because most of my cardiac output goes into my belly and butt??πŸ˜€

  6. Awesome. Me love all the jargon. Yeah, I went down 2 sizes too and it feels awesome getting into jeans of 5 years agoπŸ™‚

  7. As they used to say on In Living Color, thanks for “rectumfying” that.

    TrailGrrl

  8. I’m going to devoutly follow your new blog, Doc. I’m getting to that age when I need and can use some advice.

    By the way, when you get around to it, can you set up a means to subscribe to this blog by email? I rather not miss any posts.

  9. TrailGrrl:
    I don’t know what Living Color is, but welcome here!
    Paul:
    Your every wish is my command, Sir! Done…

  10. Thank you so much, Doc!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

